Tags

, , , , , , , ,

PICT0649I imagine a good many of you out there, remember potato candy growing up, especially if you had parents from the 1920’s and 1930’s. Times were much simpler back then, you did not run to the store to pick up the needed ingredients for that special recipe you wanted to make. If you were on a farm back then often town and the stores were 10-20 miles away, Going to town was an all day event you might do once a month. You learned to use what you had on hand. Potato Candy is born.

I well remember when my mother would boil a potato and mix the confectioners sugar into the hot potato, make a fondant like dough and knead it until it was soft and pliable. (sounds like a long time) but it only takes a minute or two. Usually the main words of wisdom were “GET OUT OF THE KITCHEN”  I will let you know when it is done!!

Also the most important words of wisdom any mother can impart concerning potato candy is SMALL, SMALL, SMALL potato, I learned this very quickly my first time making it as an adult, of course I did not heed those words of wisdom, I used a medium sized potato, and it took pounds of confectioner’s sugar and I don’t think I ever added enough,, tossed it out, I would have had enough potato candy to feed a small town!!

Now for the easiest candy you can make.

OLD FASHIONED POTATO CANDY

 

1 “SMALL POTATO”  ( I use one that will fit in the palm of my hand that I can almost make a fist around)

1 lb  Confectioners Sugar (10x)

1 tsp Vanilla

Peanut Butter

Peel and boil your potato (I cut mine in quarters), takes about 10-15 minutes.

Remove from pan, drain

Place in mixing bowl or you can mash with a fork, and add powdered sugar, and stir, will look runny at first, add vanilla, and more powdered sugar until a soft dough is formed, the consistency should feel soft but moist, but not wet.

Sprinkle a bit of powdered sugar on the counter,  knead the dough sever al time just like working bread dough, it will become smooth.

I take two sheet parchment or wax paper and put on on the counter press the dough flat like you are going to roll out a pie crust. Place the second sheet on top and roll out to about 1/8 “ inch thickness, spread with peanut butter, then roll up like a jelly roll.

Take a knife and trim off the ends (of course you have to taste test the ends) then slice  about 1/2 inch thick, and place on plate, we always kept our plate in the refrigerator so the peanut butter would firm up some.

Enjoy!