Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

 

FOODI will have to admit, there has been a learning curve to being Type 2 diabetic, even though due its popularity in my family genetics (on both sides) there seemed to be no escape for me, no matter how hard I tried.

The first thing you want to do is cut all sugars from your life, the sad point, is that you cannot do that, sugars come in many forms, the largest one is this obsession for most people with wheat, in the forms of flours, pastas, breads, literally every meal had some form of wheat in it, wheat flours convert to sugars as they are being digested.  I learned quickly for myself any way, is that wheat in any form, even homemade, organic, non organic, etc. made my blood sugar skyrocket off the charts! The best thing I ever did is cut the wheat from my diet, at least 99.5%, which has helped greatly. Cutting wheat from my diet also greatly lowered my stiff joints and joint pain from Osteo-arthritis, which is in every joint of my body. I would say on this note, this was dramatically improved.

I do not use artificial sweeteners if I can help it, opting for one of the naturally occuring sugars, honey, Agave, etc. and Whey Low.(click on Whey Low) to be taken to their site.  Though I try hard not to use much sugar at all, you need something to give some amount of carbs.

FOOD-4Salads are wonderful and a healthy choice for you, but your body does need sugars in some form to live off of and operate on. Lately I have been trying to make my own salad dressings again. I find that the honey mustard, gives the touch of sweetness you are looking for, as well as the acidic influence of cider vinegar, so you have a savory, sweet tartness to your salad.

I will admit while researching recipes to make one of my own, I found that people tend to go way overboard on the honey part, Yikes, some recipes I was not sure if they were not trying to make a honey mustard dessert or what?

While I made this dressing using mayonaise, I will be trying and writing a post on Honey Mustard Vinaigarette when I make another recipe. That recipe is nearly the same but uses extra virgin olive oil, and no mayonaise. Variety is the spice of life.

HONEY MUSTARD SALAD DRESSING

1/4 cup Mayonaise (I used Hellmann’s )

1/4 cup Cider Vinegar (I used Bragg’s)

3 Tablespoons Rounded, Dijon Mustard (I used Grey Poupon)

2 Tablespoons Honey (I used local, any honey would work)

With a whisk or spoon, mix all ingredients together. This version with mayonaise does not separate in the refrigerator and stays nicely mixed.

Makes approximately 1 cup, recipe is easily doubled.

