Tags

, , , , , , , ,

This soup is fairly quick and easy, I had two chicken tighs frozen in the freezer, and wanted to use them. I also had celery, carrots, onion, some fresh ginger.

I cooked the frozen chicken thighs in water to cover in a pan. I added the following herbs and spices, 2 very small bay leaves, a healthy (big) pinch of dried thyme, salt, pepper a thumbnail size piece of fresh peeled and chopped ginger as well as about 1/2 tsp of ground dried ginger (I like ginger)

I cut the neck from a small butternut squash, I would say about 1/2 lb, I cut it in half, then in half again, so into quarters, with peeling or rind still on I put into the steamer basket in a medium size pan added water to bottom of steamer basket and added 2 peeled and sliced medium carrots, 3 ribs of celery cut into 1 inch pcs approximately. put the lid on and steamed for about 30 minutes or until all stuck tender with a fork.

While the vegetables were steaming I added 1/2 of a large onion (if you are familliar with Costco Onions) this mean “big” into small chunks and added to the broth with the chicken, covered and simmered until tender.

When the squash and other vegetable were done steaming I lifted out the chicken thighs and bay leaves, and added the steamed vegetables, then with an immersion or stick blender I puree’d all, once puree’d I added 2 Tablespoons butter and salt to taste, and about 1/3 cup half & half and blended a bit more.

This recipe was prepared in about 1 hour, so it was a quick on the fly meal. This recipe is written much like you find in old Mennonite, Amish, and Brethren cookbooks in paragraph form. I did give tablespoon measurements as in the old cookbooks I would have said , butter the size of a walnut.  I did not get a picture of the finished product but then I did not plan on writing a post about it either, sometime thing just happen. Unplanned.

The soup turned out great so I thought I would share it.

I stole a picture from my own blog as I had made a somewhat different recipe on March 13, 2014.

