Tags

, , , , , ,

WHOLE WHEAT OATMEAL ROLLS 008I find that these 100% whole wheat yeast rolls are quick as well as being diabetic friendly, at least for myself I find very little spike in blood sugar when I have them with a meal.

They are made with 100% whole wheat, however the original recipe called for 3 cups whole wheat, I found that they were very dry, I thought that I would use 2 cups whole wheat and 1 cup old fashioned rolled oats, and find these to be more moist and even better when heated in the microwave.

They are quick and ready to eat within 1 hour of starting the recipe. I also bake them in muffin tins just for the heck of it to be different, also it makes a nice portion size.

2 cups Whole Wheat Flour

1 cup Old Fashioned Rolled Oats

1 cup Warm Water

1 Tablespoon Sugar (or honey) I use sugar

2 Tablespoons Yeast

1 Tsp. Salt

1/3 cup Butter (melted and cooled)

Mix the flour and oat meal together in a large bowl ( I use the Kitchen Aide). Put on the dough hook.

Proof the yeast in the cup of warm water for 5-10 minutes to make sure it is growing. Add the salt and melted butter and stir together.

with the mixer running on the first speed, add the water/yeast mixture, at this point as the dough mixes I add about 1/4 to 1/3 cup warm water, as whole wheat and oatmeal tends to soak up more water. Mix until the bowl is scraped clean, then stop.

Place the dough (which will be a sticky dough) into an oiled bowl and turn the dough to cover and cover the bowl with a cloth and set in a warm place or a sunny window.

Let rise 10 minutes, (that is right you did read right only 10 minutes) I have a greased 12 compartment muffin tin I shape into round balls and fill the tin, cover and set in the warm place again for 20 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees and bake for approx 12-15 minutes until golden. Remove from oven and brush tops with butter.

These keep very well once cooled in a Ziploc bag fro about 5 days. (if they last that long)

