Tags

, , , ,

IMG_0026Well it seems befitting before the first arctic blast of the season reaches us, that I bring in the Amaryllis of last winters bloom from the deck, and prepare them to re-bloom this season.

I also will be adding some additional new bulbs this winter, so that the apartment will have a constant supply of flowers all winter. Last year with few exception of 1-3 weeks between blooming of plants, I pot and water them every two weeks or so.

IMG_0266Today was the day to bring the pots in, trim off all the dead leaves, clean the bulbs and prune the roots, while researching for this article I learned how to propagate the amaryllis and will pass this video link on to you as well. I will wait until next season, when I have additional bulbs to experiment with, also I need as systemic fungicide when I go to try this.

USEFUL AMARYLLIS LINKS YOU MAY FIND INTERESTING

HOW TO CHIP AN AMARYLLIS BULB –by AMARYLLIS MAN (YOU TUBE)

CHIPPING AMARYLLIS BULBS (PROPAGATING)

AMARYLLIS – THE UNITED STATES NATIONAL ARBORETUM

 

TRIMMINH YHR OLD LEAVE OFF

AMARYLLIS BULBS 005  AMARYLLIS BULBS 006

REMOVING THE OLD BULBS AND CLEANING THEM UP

AMARYLLIS BULBS 009

BULBS ARE CLEANED AND REALLY DARK LAYER OF SKIN REMOVED/ROOTS CLEANED OR OLD SOIL

AMARYLLIS BULBS 011

TRIMMING THE OLD ROOTS TO ABOUT 3 TO 4 INCHES LONG, WILL AIR DRY FOR A DAY OR TWO, THEN PUT IN SOME DRY GREENHOUSE MIX AND ALLOW TO REST IN A COOL FROST FREE LOCATION UNTIL READY TO REPOT.

AMARYLLIS BULBS 016

