Tags

, , , , , ,

 

COUNTRY LIFE

Container Gardens 7-02-2014 007I well remember my grandmother spending hours cutting fresh corn from the cob. However they use to split the kernels, something I never understood why, and I do not. Then after the corn was off the cob, we would take the back of a knife and scrape the remaining bottom portion of the corn and milk from the cob, package it and get it ready for the freezer.

I decided one day after buying 2 bags in which had about 112 ears each from the Shenandoah Valley Produce Auction, run by Old Order Mennonites of Dayton, VA

Learn more about the auction by clicking the link above.

 

 

 

One day I went to grate cabbage for coleslaw made with my mothers recipe for Boiled Salad Dressing, which I try to keep on hand all the time. I was looking at the box grater we always used for grating potatoes and cabbage. and just stared at the side that slices potatoes, and thought I wonder if this will take corn from the cob, as you might guess I got several ears and started grating, sure enough it took the entire kernel from the cob, and much faster than  you might think.

This is the method I have used ever since. I will say that it is easier if you get a strip of the non slip stuff that people use in cabinets and draws commonly found at the Dollar store. The grater stays steady while doing so many ears.

You may ask yourselves WHY? If you have never had fresh corn prepared this way, when you can buy frozen and canned corn in the stores these days. There is no store bought corn that can hold a candle to the fresh flavor of corn done and frozen in this manner, once done this way you will be ruined for life, buying store bought.

Container Gardens 7-02-2014 004  Container Gardens 7-02-2014 008

Container Gardens 7-02-2014 006

