Tags

, , , , , ,

CONTAINER GARDENS 6-1-2014 005I have been working on several blog posts, none of which are complete yet, but wanted to make a post today.

My container gardens are made of storage totes with broken styrofoam coolers in the bottom to displace the unneeded volume of soil, I chose the containers for their depth and height in relationship to the deck rail, both so the blossoms would be above the height of the rail, and also to add privacy. Under the totes were even larger round totes that I had in my Afton Studio which were also used for stability and height. I did not want to dispose of them as I would like to use them in my next basket weaving studio. This way they are being productive and useful at the same time.

CONTAINER GARDENS 6-1-2014 001The reason that I choose geraniums is for their bright colors, and abundance of bloom. They also are very drought tolerant during the months of July and August. I also have a large Mandevilla vine, 2 Cardinal Vines as well as 2 Moonflower vines, for fragrant blooming at night. I have Ganzia as well as they too are drought tolerant, also to add variety.

CONTAINER GARDENS 6-1-2014 014I am currently working a post for the “OLLAS” that a friend gave to me to try out, it is what you see sticking out of the tote with the Mandevilla vine, it is a clay vessel that is used in water conservation areas, and I can tell you that the vines and plants have taken off from the beginning in the container. They are used in large containers as well as the open ground. That post I am hoping to post with more pictures and links as well mid week, I will making update posts through the summer.

I am going to try and find a Rosemary bush, Thyme, Basil and Chives. All are growing well and really makes my day happy whenever I look on the deck. The funny thing is all the apartments across from me always kept their blinds closed, as soon as I planted all the flowers they all have their blinds open!

CONTAINER GARDENS 6-1-2014 012Most of the apartments where I live all have 6ft x 10ft decks, and virtually no one uses them, I absolutely do not understand this, I know not everyone has a green thumb, but not even one little plant or a chair? The apartment manager said NO ONE ever uses their patios and decks. She has been managing the apartments for 13 years.

Today as well as making this post I am in the process of making a chicken vegetable soup, for which I am cooking a 3 1/2 lb chicken, part will be used in the soup the other in chicken salad.

 

CONTAINER GARDENS 6-1-2014 007  CONTAINER GARDENS 6-1-2014 006

CONTAINER GARDENS 6-1-2014 008  CONTAINER GARDENS 6-1-2014 011

CONTAINER GARDENS 6-1-2014 013  CONTAINER GARDENS 6-1-2014 004

