Tags

, , , , , ,

 

 

The Ant and the Grasshopper

In a field one summer’s day a Grasshopper was hopping about, chirping and singing to its heart’s content. An Ant passed by, bearing along with great toil an ear of corn he was taking to the nest. “Why not come and chat with me,” said the Grasshopper, “instead of toiling and moiling in that way?” “I am helping to lay up food for the winter,” said the Ant, “and recommend you to do the same.” “Why bother about winter?” said the Grasshopper; we have got plenty of food at present.” But the Ant went on its way and continued its toil. When the winter came the Grasshopper had no food and found itself dying of hunger, while it saw the ants distributing every day corn and grain from the stores they had collected in the summer. Then the Grasshopper knew:

It is best to prepare for the days of necessity.

Until about two years ago I used to be the Ant, in this parable by Aesop, we never know how dramatically our lives will change in the twinkling of an eye.

It seems now that as I look back in time, almost over night I went from being the self sufficient ant, putting up for winter, minding my abode, and being very happy in my self sufficient lifestyle, to being the grass hopper in the story. I can tell you over the past two years almost everyone that I have met and been associated with are in the tribe of grass hoppers (with one exception) it is a very unsettling feeling to know that there is nothing in reserve for a rainy day, a long and hard winter etc.

I can tell you that these people apparently know nothing of the “Ants” life, and are very content in themselves just living for today, I am sorry but I cannot ever be that content to just live for the day, and say future come what may. However over past two years I have put into a position where I cannot do anything else. Very disconcerting to say the least.

This lifestyle is just not for me, perhaps this is all these people have ever known and do not know any other way, however I do know the other way. I ask God daily for help out of this situation, however I am ready when God is ready for me. I am tired of fighting for what I believe is right in life. God Helps those that help themselves, now I live among Grasshoppers. just no way to live life.

For more of Aesop’s Fables, please click on the link below.

Aesop’s Fables

Please click on the pictures in this post to be taken to other great sites connected to this fable.

