Tags

, , , ,

100_0143  100_0145  100_0146

After nearly a week of cloudy, rainy and cold raw weather, and yesterdays, threat of 6-12 inch snowfall, that never even came close to being, at least here in Charlottesville.. some very light freezing rain on the car this morning.

We now finally have what reminds you of a glance on spring and things to come: a nice bright crisp but sunny morning. I took just a couple of pictures as I did earlier this week during the foggy morning in front of the Holly Mead Starbucks.

100_0150  100_0151  100_0152

The cherry blossoms a bit weather worn, but against a bright blue sky still makes you think of Spring even though it is only mid January.

And Spring arose on the garden fair,
Like the Spirit of Love felt everywhere;
And each flower and herb on Earth’s dark breast
rose from the dreams of its wintry rest.
~Percy Bysshe Shelley, "The Sensitive Plant"

Note: Since posting this except this morning I looked up the poem, “The Sensitive Plant” and found it to be an excellent poem, that I would like to post some time, however since it is 310 lines long, I thought I would share the link with you.

The Sensitive Plant by Percy Shelly

This weekend for the first time in months I will be making a pot of venison vegetable soup, (need to get the fresh vegetables) and also will be having venison sausage and eggs, the first cooking I have done in literally months. I am hoping to take pictures and post the recipe next week. A friend brought me the venison roast and sausage, which he will never know how much I appreciate the gift. I am looking forward to doing all of this cooking.

