Tags

, , , , , ,

The day is cold, and dark, and dreary;
It  rains, and the wind is never weary;
The vine still clings to the moldering wall,
But at every gust the dead leaves fall,
And the day is dark and dreary

.

 
My life is cold, and dark, and dreary;
It rains, and the wind is never weary;
My thoughts still cling to the moldering Past,
But the hopes of youth fall thick in the blast
And the days are dark and dreary.

 

 

 

Be still, sad heart! and cease repining;
Behind the clouds is the sun still shining;
Thy fate is the common fate of all,
Into each life some rain must fall,
Some days must be dark and dreary.

To learn more about or read more of Longfellow please visit these links.

Poetry by Longfellow

HENRY WADSWORTH LONGFELLOW~ Biography

This Poem was very fitting for the day today, It kind of summed up the fall/winter to come, kind of sums up moods of people as well. I too hope the sun is still shining in my life somewhere and will return again to brighten my days. 

Well this morning with the rain coming down and having a cup of coffee in Starbucks, the weather is so reminiscent of an autumn day, the air is cool, the rain is cold, the trees are changing from mixed greens starting to show signs of yellows and browns against a very shaded gray sky, you can almost see in months (hopefully NOT weeks) a gentle snow falling on a day like this.

I had a very nice conversation this morning with a Lutheran Minister on his way to a church in Palmyra, VA, his wife was born and raised in Lancaster, PA., thought Lutheran he was well acquainted with the lifestyles of the Old Order Mennonites and Amish, actually he was well versed in knowledge of All the Anabaptist groups. He was very interested in going to Dayton, VA which he never realized there were Old Order Mennonites on that side of the mountain.

I will admit that I came here today without anything in mind to write about, nothing really going on in my life lately, no real place to weave at comfortably, no place to cook (and store what is cooked) or the ingredients to cook it with. Would love to take photographs, alas still have not found my camera, so this boils down to finding things to write about.

I am going to look for my camera this week again, and if nothing else this winter will have a photo blog of local places to this area.

I usually write my posts and use colors in the type styles, however lately I just don’t feel as colorful as usual, could be bleak winter ahead, living situation, uncertainty of life, or just getting older. I am hoping things will improve, there are things on the horizon, that could make my life change dramatically and I am hopeful for a positive outcome.

Photo Credit for “Pleasant View Old Order Mennonite Church ~ Dayton, Virginia,

Steve Brown  please follow this link to see Mr. Browns other photography.

Steve Brown Photography

