Tags

, ,

by Rudyard Kipling

 

IF PEOPLE ONLY HAD AS MUCH FAITH IN ME, AS I HAVE IN MYSELF

During the past six years my life has been turned topsy turvy  in ways very much unseen by me years ago, stresses, struggles, and in so many ways complete chaos, learning to adapt believe me has not been an easy task. Some days you wonder what in the world I have done in this life to merit such things.

Oh there are good things on the horizon, for next year, in the spring, and virtually the only thing that keeps me going through these troubled times, looking ahead to a better life …….I hope.

Some days I have to stop and ask myself why if I have faith in myself and the abilities and true gifts that God has given me, why other people cannot see that even with insurmountable odds against me, I have faith to keep going, is it easy Heck NO, is it easy when others think you are nuts, Heck NO, is it easy when you wish others had the same in me as I have in myself and the abilities to do what needs to be done?

Believe me the biggest challenge that I face today is the living situation I am in, I am by nature a quiet person, peace and solitude loving, don’t mind at all being alone for a month, working with my baskets and other art work, cooking, cleaning, there is always something to be done, everyday that I am away from peace and solitude and artistic ways to express myself, a little piece of me dies. I know to most the need for peace and solitude and routine seams foreign, but for me it is when I talk with God and he talks with me. The ideas for art work in basketry flows from me, and I have not had this for months now.

Oh I am a people person, my mother and aunt used to say that this was a Gemini trait, two people in one body, and that is what it it is like exactly, my aunt being the same way, my birthday May 30, hers June 7.

Now anyway about todays post not me, you draw strength from different people, places, times and words in life to deal with hard times. We always had this poem hanging on the wall at home, it was one of my others favorite poems and thought it would make a good post.

Today’s pictures are from the net, however it is a reminder to myself, if I set and look at these beautiful pictures, I can imagine myself in these places of

peace and solitude, in quiet contemplation with God! Thank you Lord for the camera and pictures! Sometimes it is the only way.

“IF’

by Rudyard Kipling


IF…..


IF you can keep your head when all about you
Are losing theirs and blaming it on you,
If you can trust yourself when all men doubt you,
But make allowance for their doubting too;
If you can wait and not be tired by waiting,
Or being lied about, don’t deal in lies,
Or being hated, don’t give way to hating,
And yet don’t look too good, nor talk too wise:

If you can dream – and not make dreams your master;
If you can think – and not make thoughts your aim;
If you can meet with Triumph and Disaster
And treat those two impostors just the same;
If you can bear to hear the truth you’ve spoken
Twisted by knaves to make a trap for fools,
Or watch the things you gave your life to, broken,
And stoop and build ’em up with worn-out tools:

If you can make one heap of all your winnings
And risk it on one turn of pitch-and-toss,
And lose, and start again at your beginnings
And never breathe a word about your loss;
If you can force your heart and nerve and sinew
To serve your turn long after they are gone,
And so hold on when there is nothing in you
Except the Will which says to them: ‘Hold on!’

If you can talk with crowds and keep your virtue,
‘ Or walk with Kings – nor lose the common touch,
if neither foes nor loving friends can hurt you,
If all men count with you, but none too much;
If you can fill the unforgiving minute
With sixty seconds’ worth of distance run,
Yours is the Earth and everything that’s in it,
And – which is more – you’ll be a Man, my son!


