Tags

, , , , , , ,

Have you ever wanted something light to eat in the summer months? It is just to hot to cook, and you don’t want something too heavy but something that will stick with you for a while. If you are like me and try to survive just on straight salads, you find yourself rooting around the fridge and and cabinets several hours later looking for something else.

Well since I have entered the Lentil phase of my life, I can honestly say nothing has been so satisfying as lentils. I have found nothing that will satisfy your hunger and stick with you like lentils.

With this knowledge in mind and summer coming I wanted to find a lentil salad, which is nothing more than lentils  and other typical salad ingredients. Actually the sky is the limit, only limited by your imagination.

This evening I am going to make lentil salad, and best part it can be eaten cold from the fridge. Make a bowl and get some whenever you need a little something to stick with you.

Since I am one to invent my recipes by taking the best parts of many recipes, the differences between recipes and concocting my own recipe, Lentil Salad is no different in this respect.

I have borrowed a picture of Lentil Salad for this post, as I have found my camera, but not the batteries or charger. (I will be so glad to find everything again so that I can post my own pictures again)

Here is a list of the ingredients I am going to put into my lentil salad.

Lentils

(like other recipes I will use a mixture of lentils) however I will use the Yellow Dal lentils which keep their bright color in the salad, which I found at Whole Foods,

Red Onion

Green Onion (chopped)

Cucumbers (diced)

Green Pepper (diced)

Celery (chopped)

Garbonzo Beans (chickpeas)

Tomatoes (diced)

Throw in some dried thyme, basil, perhaps some oregano, perhaps some rosemary

I find that I use a lot less salt in recipes by adding spices like these, and also it perks up dishes that could be bland.

You also could add chicken breast that has been diced.

Lentil Salad Dressing

Olive Oil

Lemon Juice (fresh)

Thyme, basil, oregano, salt and pepper to taste.

Vinegar (I use cider vinegar)

Whisk or blend all ingredients together, pour over the salad and mix together.

Notes:

Like I said above the varieties of these salads are only limited by your personal preferences and imagination.

Other ingredients that would be good could include:

Crumbled Feta Cheese, Blue Cheese, Ramano /Parmesan Cheeses, , fresh herbs, fried sausage or bacon, cooked or grilled chicken, even left over rotisserie chicken, cooked shrimp, the skies the limit

