Tags

, , , ,

PICT1109Over the past weekend I tried using my butternut squash in a wide variety of ways, from sweet to not sweet. From a 4 1/2 pound butternut squash I made the following recipes. Savory Bacon Browned Butternut Squash Soup, which turned out very well. and the Butternut Squash Bread and then I had 1 cup of Butternut puree left and wanted some Sour Cream Biscuits so I did some experimentation with the last 3/4 cup. and this too was very successful indeed, I really cannot say that they had a butternut flavor, however it sure did give the biscuits a very buttery yellow color.

RELATED POSTS

SOUR CREAM BISCUITS

A YEAR AGO THIS MONTH

FIBONACCI SEQUENCE USED IN BASKETRY

TWO YEARS AGO THIS MONTH

THE GARDEN IN AUTUMN

HAND CANING IN THE MODERN WORLD

 

BIUTTERNUT SOUR CREAM BISCUITS

2 1/2 Cups Flour

1 Cup Sour Cream

1/2 to 3/4 Cup Butternut Squash Puree

1/2 Teaspoon Salt (or to taste)

1 Tablespoon Baking Powder

1 Teaspoon Baking Soda

2 Tablespoons Butter (Melted)

1/4 Cup or So Milk ( I used 1/2 & 1/2)

PICT1111When mixing biscuit dough you do not want to over work the dough, I use a Kitchen Aid with the flat paddle, I mix the dry ingredients in the bowl, then add the Sour Cream and Butternut that I have mixed by hand in a separate bowl,, mix with a pulsing motion add the butter, and finish with the 1/2&1/2, when adding the milk or 1/2 & 1/2 you want to add just enough to form a nice moist dough, then stop.

I turn my dough out onto a lightly floured pastry cloth, then turn the dough over to coat  lightly with flour, then pat out to about the thickness of a canning jar ring or biscuit cutter. then cut my biscuits and place on a parchment lined tray.

For those of you that have never used parchment, I encourage you to give it a try, clean up is fast and easy, and the parchment can be used many times over. biscuits and cookies NEVER stick.

I usually  will get about 12 biscuits using the wide mouth canning jar ring.

Preheat the oven to about 450, and bake for 12-15 minutes. Check to see if tops are golden, if not leave a couple more minutes but watch closely as it will only take an additional minute or two.

I remove mine from the oven and brush the tops with melted butter.

PICT1112

