Tags

, , , , , ,

PICT0841A Delicious Ice Box Cookie

Do you like molasses or ginger cookies? These cookies are delicious anytime of the year! So very easy to make, as you can make the dough up today and chill in the refrigerator or freezer for several hours to several days and bake when it is convenient for you. The original mess is all gone. We have used this recipe for years from the Mennonite Community Cookbook.

You pinch off balls of dough, roll into balls in your hands, and drop into a bowl of sugar or I like to use a zip lock bag with sugar, this way you can coat a good many dough balls at once.

Molasses Crinkles

3/4 cup Shortening  (I use Butter)

1 cup Brown Sugar

1 Egg

4 tablespoons molasses (I used strong molasses, however I have used Sorghum also)

2 1/4 cups Flour

1/2 teaspoon Salt

2 teaspoons Soda

1 teaspoon Cinnamon (I use more 2 tsp.)

1 teaspoon Ginger (I use 2 tsp.)

1/2 teaspoon ground cloves

Cream Shortening and sugar together.

Add egg and molasses and beat until well blended

Sift flour.

Measure and add soda, salt and spices

Sift again.

Add dry ingredients to creamed mixture and mix thoroughly

Chill dough In refrigerator

Shape the chilled dough into balls 1 inch in diameter

Roll ball in granulated sugar, and place on greased baking sheets (I line my pans with parchment paper) makes for very easy clean up!

Bake at 350 degrees for 12-15 minutes

Makes 4 dozen cookies.

PICT0845

These are great dunked in hot coffee, tea, or cocoa.

