Tags

, , ,

PICT0811I don’t know about you but I love ginger! Ground ginger makes chicken broth richer and yet does not in the end impart a ginger flavor. Ginger is good in so many things from main dishes to sweet treats and desserts, it is a very versatile spice.

Well I have seen ginger syrup different time over the years and never gave it much thought; until one day I thought hmmm, ginger ale. I love ginger ale and just think ginger is good for an upset stomach, so if you have “REAL” Ginger Ale then this would be good for that, while we wish that what you get in the stores are mainly a ginger flavor, this would be carbonated water, and Real Ginger Syrup! Now for the recipe for the Real thing.

I can now tell you after making both of these that nothing can be easier than making Ginger Syrup or Crystalized Ginger, Yet when you think about it, to make both of these is not that expensive. From 3/4 pound fresh ginger I got 3 cups syrup and a pint of crystalized ginger. Roughly doing the math the ginger cost $2.32, sugar ,99 cents. about $ 3.31. There is no reason not to try this out and have it on hand.

Roughly, the equation for this recipe is:

4 ounces fresh ginger

1 cup Sugar

1 cup Water

This way it is easier to figure out like I did having 3/4 pound ginger, of course if you want it stronger you can use more ginger per recipe also. This is just one of those recipes you personally have to play with to find what you like best.

I will add here for years if I have an upset stomach, sour stomach, gas  etc. all you need to do is put some ground ginger in a tea cup with some sugar or honey add hot water and stir, I call this ginger tea and it fixes these problems right away. Now All I have to do is put the ginger syrup in the cup and hot water, or chew and sever bits of crystalized ginger (I can already tell you it is good)

Have you ever tried Reed’s Natural Ginger Beer, it is sweetened with honey. I am thinking now next time using honey and water to cook my ginger in, this is very similar to my syrup recipe for Baklava (which is water honey and lemon).

GINGER SYRUP

8 ounces Fresh Ginger Root (peeled, and sliced or cubed)

2 cups Water

2 cups Sugar

Heat water and add sugar, stir to dissolve, add ginger, and simmer over medium heat until tender for about 1 hour, cubed ginger may take longer about 1 1/2 to 2 hours, you want a slow simmer so that your syrup does not reduce to much, but if it does you can stir in more water to thin it down.

Homemade Ginger Ale

In a glass, place the following

3-4 Tablespoons Ginger Syrup (more or less to suit your tastes)

Fill glass with Sparkling water, or Seltzer Water

Thin Slice of Lime or Lemon and stir.

CRYSTALIZED GINGER

PICT0801Have a sheet pan lined with foil, wax paper, (I used parchment paper) put about a 1/4 cup of sugar spread around on the pan/sheet, with a slotted spoon remove the ginger from the syrup, allowing excess syrup to drain away back into the pan, spread out over sugared surface and toss to coat ginger with sugar. Even out on baking sheet and allow to set for 12-24 hours (I found that 24 hours was best. I also toss occasionally  to make sure it is drying evenly, then package up when ginger feels crisp.

PICT0813

