Tags

, ,

PICT0761You know over the years I have let others influence my choices, and in the way of food that has not happened often at all, because I love most everything. One vegetable that has a bad rap for this has been Fennel!!

To many times I have heard people say I don’t like licorice, or anise, and I certainly don’t want it in my food! However I found most of these people have never in their lives even eaten fennel. So for years I listened to these people, being just as guilty as they are, rush to judgment of a food without even trying it.

This week in my CSA box, there were two fennel bulbs with the green tops, so I was not going to waste them, I set out to find out different recipes using fennel, what I found out was that roasting the bulb in the over was a popular way to use the bulb, Well let me tell you, I will never turn fennel down again!

No it is not like eating a mouthful of  black jelly beans, it is a subtle mixture of flavors, the fresh bulbs smell like lemony, ginger, with a  subtle hint of licorice. The roasted bulbs have somewhat milder flavor of what I mentioned, with a slight nutty flavor.

I roasted my fennel bulbs with a recipe of olive oil, balsamic vinegar, sea salt and freshly ground pepper.

PICT0763   PICT0774

ROASTED FENNEL BULBS

2 whole Fennel Bulbs separated and cut in half

1-2 Tablespoons Olive Oil

1-2 Tablespoons Balsamic Vinegar

Sea Salt

Black Pepper

Place all in bowl and toss to coat.

Place all in single layer on foil lined baking sheet,

Place in preheated 400 degree oven for 35-40 minutes.

Remove from oven and serve.

Also good sprinkled with grated parmesan cheese.

