Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Today I had company coming and had made a pot of Chicken and Noodle soup for us for dinner this afternoon.  I also had the sour cream biscuits I made yesterday. However today felt like there needed to be a dessert. What can I make!! They will be here in 20 minutes!

PICT0639Jell-O & Sour Cream Dessert

This recipe calls for 1 cup of boiling water (I hate to waste things) so I drained my pineapple and mandarin Oranges, which came to slightly more than a cup 1 1/4 cups. I heated the juices to boiling.

1 cup Boling Water  (I just the juice drained from the fruit)

1 package Lime Jell-o (I am certain any flavor would work)

1 cup Sour Cream

1 20 oz can Pineapple Tidbits (drained) I am sure crushed would be good also

1 small can Mandarin Oranges (drained)

 

Bring the water or fruit juice to a boil, turn off stove, add jell-o, stir to dissolve, add 1 cup of sour cream, whisk until thoroughly blended, and smooth.

Pour into a bowl, add pineapple and mandarin oranges, stir to distribute.

Place in refrigerator for 3 hours ( I did not have that much time) so mine went into the freezer for about 1 hour then the refrigerator .

Ready to serve when set.

Notes: Next time I make this, I will toss in a handful of coconut and perhaps some chopped Maraschino Cherries and stir in with the fruit.

This would also be good with some chopped pecans, finely chopped celery, grated carrot, bananas, just about anything that you can dream up.

