Tags

, , , , , , ,

Some friends share their CSA box with me each week, so I never know that I will be making from week to week, it is always a surprise. So I have decided to share with everyone the recipes that I make from the produce in the CSA box. The past two weeks I have had 2-3 pounds of Asparagus.

Last week I made Cream of Asparagus Soup, for which no recipe exists, I just make it, so I tried to keep track of what I did to make this post. Just a note here, many of my recipes you will notice that I use a pressure cooker extensively, and have for decades now. However don’t dismay, you can make the recipes without, just adds a little more time to preparation.

Cream of Asparagus Soup

1 lb. Fresh Asparagus

(Cut off the hard bottom stem, you can either snap off or use you thumbnail to determine where the tender part starts. )

Small piece of salt pork.

(bacon, or butter or olive oil may also be used)

clove of garlic

(chopped or from the jar)

bunch of spring onions, chopped

Milk, 1/2 and 1/2  or cream

butter

salt and pepper to taste

Chop the Asparagus into what ever size suits you, I did about 1/2 inch pieces.

Render out salt pork in the bottom of pressure cooker, (you could use bacon also) or side meat.

Place Asparagus in pan, along with chopped bunch of spring onions  (I love onions so I used 6) chop the white and all of the green tops (if they are really young use 6) if they are older larger spring onions 2 or 3 would do)  I usually just saute for a minute before adding the water.

Add, about  2 –3 cups of water

Garlic, salt and pepper to taste

Place lid on pressure cooker bring to 15 lb pressure for 4 minutes, turn unit off let set a minute or two and cool off in sink under cold running water.

Place back on unit, remove lid,  turn unit on medium high heat, and add

1 cup of milk (I used 1/2 and 1/2 –best of both worlds, not plain milk and not heavy cream)

To thicken you can use cornstarch thickening  2-3 tablespoons of cornstarch to water to make thickening, and add to the soup, still to boiling, allow to simmer, for about a minute.

NOTE: I was out of cornstarch, so I made a quick roux of 4 Tablespoons  Flour and 3 tablespoons melted butter, mix together well, until  slightly runny you may need an extra tablespoon butter , pour this into the near simmering soup and stir until thickened let cook for a minute or so to thicken.

More or less cornstarch or flour may be used to reach the desired thickness I like just some body to my cream of soups, but not heavy.

